Rallycross was invented by Robert Reed, who was the producer on ITV’s World of Sport programme at the time. The first event took place at Lydden Hill on 4 February back in 1967, where it quickly became a staple of Saturday afternoon sports in the UK with both ITV and BBC broadcasting rallycross.

The popularity of rallycross soon spread, with the first event on the European mainland taking place at Elst in Holland in 1969, with the Scandinavian rallycross debut taking place at Hedemora in Sweden two years later.

The FIA World Rallycross Championship presented by Monster Energy (World RX) was established in 2014.


Each event will comprise of practice sessions, four qualifying heats, two semi-finals and one final.

There will be four qualifying heats with a maximum of five cars starting abreast in each race over four laps.

Heat 1

Starting positions in the races will be determined by a draw that will be carried out beforehand.

Heat 2

Race starters determined according to classification of heat 1. This follows the same format until heat 4.

All qualifying heats will be timed and the fastest driver in each heat will be rewarded 50 points, second: 45, third: 42, fourth: 40, fifth: 39, sixth 38 and so on.

After the qualifying heats, there will be an intermediate classification according to each driver’s total points scored in the four heats.

Joker laps

An alternative section of track that adds at least two seconds to the lap time, and through which every driver must pass once in each race, semi-final and final. Failure to take the Joker Lap is penalised by 30-seconds in the qualifying heats, and by being classified last and loss of points in a semi-final or final.


There will be six starters arranged on a two-by-two grid and each semi-final will be run over six laps. The top 12 scoring drivers in the intermediate classification will qualify for the semi-finals. The winner, second and third placed drivers in each semi-final will qualify for the final.


Finals will also have six starters, arranged over three rows and will be run over six laps.
The semi-final winner with the highest number of points in the event will start on the ‘pole’ side of the grid, followed by the other semi-final winner. The same procedure will be used between the two second-placed drivers and two third-placed drivers.

The winner of the final will be the winner of the event. Positions one to six in the final classification will be according to the result of the final. The remaining drivers will be classified according to points scored in the event.


Drivers score Championship points at three stages of the event.
The top 16 drivers after the four qualifying heats (Intermediate Classification) score points starting from 16 for the best placed, down to one point for 16th place.
The top 12 progress to two six car semi-finals in which points from six for the winner to one for sixth place are awarded. The top three from each semi-final then enter the final.

Scoring for the finals are as follows:

  • 1st : 8 points
  • 2nd : 5 points
  • 3rd : 4 points
  • 4th : 3 points
  • 5th : 2 points
  • 6th : 1 point

Maximum score in an event is 30 points (16+6+8). All points scored in all 12 rounds count.
The team’s Championship will include all points scored by the two team drivers at all events. At least one driver in a team must start in all 12 events. The second car can be driven by different drivers and will score points for the team no matter who is driving.


The World Rallycross Championship is contested by Supercar drivers. The European Championships have separate titles for drivers in the Supercar and TouringCar categories.


Mild-mannered production saloons turned into the ultimate racecars by the addition of turbocharged, two-litre, 600bhp engines and four-wheel drive. 0-60mph(100km/h) in 1.9-seconds.

Touring Car

Rear-wheel drive and two-litre engines. Cars produced with front-drive can be converted to rear-drive. 21st centrury interpretation of traditional rallycross cars.


Spec category for identical 310bhp, mid-engined, four-wheel drive racecars built by Olsbergs MSE. Guest support category at some World RX events.


Touring Car Lars-Øivind ENERBERG NOR
S 1600 Kasparas NAVICKAS LT
Supercar WorldRX Mattias EKSTROM SUE
Supercar EuroRX Kevin HANSEN SUE
Touring Car Magda ANDERSSON SUE
Supercar WorldRX Toomas HEIKKINEN FIN
Supercar EuroRX Jérôme GROSSET-JANIN FRA
Supercar WorldRX Toomas HEIKKINEN FIN
Touring Car Fredrik MAGNUSSEN NOR
Touring Car Filip BAELUS BEL